Frostbiting


Frostbiting is a term that pertains to the sailing, or especially racing of sailboats in the winter.  The current racing fleet at Sea Cliff is comprised of Sunfish and Lasers.  Frostbiting season at Sea Cliff Yacht Club begins the first week in November, and racing is held every Sunday afternoon (weather permitting) with the final Sunday being the first Sunday in May, the Cinco de Mayo Regatta. The format is set up as informal racing stressing fun and learning.  Experienced and inexperienced sailors are always welcome.  It is not necessary to own a boat, as many members are willing to share their boats for others to participate.

 

 
2016-17
Sea Cliff Yacht Club Fleet # 517
FROSTBITE SCHEDULE
All days start at 1:00 P.M. except where otherwise indicated.
Fall Series

Sunday, Nov. 6
Sunday, Nov. 13
Sunday, Nov. 20 - Turkey Trot Regatta – Noon start
Sunday, Nov. 27
Sunday, Dec. 4
Sunday, Dec. 11
Sunday, Dec. 18
Sunday, Dec. 25 – Merry Christmas – No Sailing

Winter Series

Sunday, Jan. 1 – Happy New Year – No Sailing
Sunday, Jan. 8 – Ice Cube Regatta – Noon start
Sunday, Jan. 15
Sunday, Jan. 22
Sunday, Jan. 29
Sunday, Feb. 5
Sunday, Feb. 12 – Heart Break Regatta – 1 PM Start
Sunday, Feb. 19
Sunday, Feb. 26

Spring Series


Sunday, March 5
Sunday, March 12
Sunday, March 19
Sunday, March 26
Sunday, April 2 - April Fool’s Regatta – 1 PM Start
Sunday, April 9
Sunday, April 16 – Happy Easter – No Sailing
Sunday, April 23
Sunday, April 30
Sunday, May 7 – Cinco de Mayo Regatta – 1 PM Start - Last Day of Sailing

 

42 The Boulevard, Sea Cliff, NY 11579 - (516) 671-7374 - Lat. 40.848N Long. 73.645W - VHF Ch.9
All Rights Reserved 2015